Easy Stove Top Frittata

A frittata is a great alternative to the old omelet or scrambled egg, which are two breakfast (and breakfast for dinner) staples in our house. At work, our chef bakes up a frittata every morning and it seems like such a time consuming, laborious process.  I am a super busy working mom and I definitely do not have the time in the morning to wait around for eggs to cook.  When my family wants breakfast, they want it stat!  I found a variation of this recipe from Betty Crocker and just switched it up a bit to accommodate my finicky son and my vegetarianism.  The whole process took about ten minutes and it was such a hit with the kids that I will be making it again when my husband is home!  Add in some ham or bacon and change up the veggies to make the frittata your own!

Ingredients:
4 eggs
1/4 C milk
2 tbsp veg oil or butter
1/4 C onions
1/4 C green pepper
1/4 C shredded cheese – I used Colby Jack
3-4 slices of tomato
salt and pepper to taste

Heat oil in a 10″ nonstick skillet over med heat. Add in the onions and green peppers.  Saute for 3-4 minutes.
In a small bowl,  combine the eggs, milk and salt and pepper.  Whisk until well combined.
Pour egg mixture into hot skillet.  Cook over the medium heat for 8 min, stirring gently until the egg is set.
Once the egg has set, reduce the heat to low, top the frittata with the tomatoes and cheese.
Cover and cook for 2-3 minutes – until the cheese is melted! Enjoy!

                                                                  Bon Appetite!

One thought on “Easy Stove Top Frittata

Leave a comment