Veggie Soup

When I was a kid, I HATED soup.  My mom was a big producer of random homemade soups and stews and I would be forced to eat soup at least once a week.  My dad was a fussy guy, but he loved soup, so soup we ate.  Chili, chicken noodle, white bean, beef vegetable, tomato, pea,  minestrone, the list was never ending.  I definitely went through a soupless period after I moved out on my own.  But once I became a mom and needed to come up with healthy, quick options for my family, I realized what a great option soup is, especially if you crave warmth on a cold winter night!  This is a great recipe because it is easy to make, it is chock full of beans and veggies, and it freezes well.  I make it with vegetable stock because I am a vegetarian, but it can also be made with chicken stock, if you prefer.  Try it out, change up the beans and vegetables to suit your tastes and to go with what is seasonable.  Enjoy!!

Ingredients:

1/4 C olive oil
1 C diced onion
1C chopped bell pepper
2 Tbsp minced garlic
1/2 C diced celery
3/4 C diced carrot
3/4 C diced zucchini
1/2 C diced summer squash
1/2 C frozen corn
1 can crushed tomato
1 C tomato juice
6 C vegetable broth
1/2 tsp oregano
1/8 tsp thyme
1/2 tsp basil
1 can Great Northern white beans
salt and pepper to taste


Cook onion, green peppers, carrots, celery, zucchini, summer squash and garlic in the olive oil over medium high heat for three to 4 minutes, mixing often.  Add tomatoes, tomato juice, vegetable broth and herbs to the veggies. Cover and allow to simmer for 40 minutes.  Add the corn and the beans.  Allow the soup to simmer for another 10 minutes. Enjoy!

                                                               Bon Appetite!


Leave a comment