Sweet Jesus These Are Good! Citrus Cookies

I will admit that I tend to proclaim certain treats as “the best thing I have ever baked” on occasion.  Just last week, I may have called my baked apple bread pudding the tastiest thing that has ever come out of my oven.  I am known to get all poetic and maybe a little bat shit crazy over my armada of muffins.  I had a Tom Cruise on the Oprah couch moment after I made Nutella muffins last spring. Combining various vegetables with chocolate sent me into such a state that I thought I would need a Heimlich!  (Jack ate zucchini!  And he did not wipe it out of his mouth with a napkin! Cue universal sign for choking!)  Well, I knew I had a winner with these cookies when I tasted the batter. The recipe probably should have made 24….. I ate so much batter, I only ended up with 20 cookies!  They are moist, super easy to make and have a wonderful citrus flavor (I have made them with both lemon and lime – equally excellent!)  Here’s how to make them:

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened (but DEFINITELY not melted!)

1 C granulated sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 egg

zest of 1 lemon OR lime

juice of 1 lemon OR lime

1 1/2 C flour

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/8 tsp baking soda

1/4 C powdered sugar

WHAT TO DO:

Preheat oven to 350*.  Spray cookie sheets with Pam.  Set aside.

wpid-IMAG1530.jpg

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar together.  Mix until light and fluffy.   Add in vanilla, eggs, lemon (or lime) juice and zest.  In a separate bowl, combine all dry ingredients, minus the powdered sugar.  Give a quick stir then slowly combine into the wet ingredients.  Mix until just combined – be sure to scrape the sides of the bowl!!

wpid-IMAG1523.jpg

Pour the powdered sugar onto a large plate.  Drop teaspoonful sized balls o’ cookie dough into the powder sugar and roll.  Repeat with remaining batter.  Place the sugary balls of cookie dough on the greased cookie sheet.

wpid-IMAG1524.jpg

Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until the cookies are slightly firm to the touch.  They will still be very light in color. YOU DO NOT WANT THESE COOKIES TO GET CRUNCHY!!  (Did I overdo it with the caps?)  Let the cookies finish baking on the sheet for a couple of minutes then remove and let cool.  I may have grabbed a cookie at this point in the baking process.  I won’t judge if you do too!!!

wpid-IMAG1534.jpg

Enjoy these yummy cookies. Bring them to work.  Share them.  Or don’t.  Eat them all yourself.   But make them. And enjoy!

One thought on “Sweet Jesus These Are Good! Citrus Cookies

Leave a Reply

