Day 2 – Veggie Mini-Quiche

This is a great, quick recipe that can be tailored to suit your  tastes and any potential waistline issues that you may have.  I used a recipe similar to this several years ago when I was on the South Beach diet, after the birth of my children.  I love it because you can make it ahead, pop it into the microwave and grab it as you run out the door.  You can also play with the flavor combinations – anything that is yummy in an omelet tastes good in one of these mini-quiches.  It is easy to trim the calories by using egg beaters* and low fat cheese.  I am a real egg kind of girl, so that is what I used today. It was my favorite breakfast when I was on South Beach and my kids totally loved it this morning!  I hope it becomes one of your favorites too!

Ingredients:                                                                                 
Olive oil (about 1 tbsp – enough to coat small skillet)
1/4 cup green peppers
1/4 cup onions
1/4 cup diced tomato
1 cup cheddar cheese

4 eggs
1 tbsp milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray the muffin tin with cooking spray.  Set aside.

Saute green peppers and onions in skillet with olive oil over medium heat until soft.

In medium sized bowl, beat four eggs and milk.  Add vegetables and cheese.  Mix until combined.  Divide evenly among muffin cups.  Bake for 20 min or until knife inserted in center of quiche comes out clean.  Makes approximately 8 mini-quiches.

*To make low calorie or heart healthy version, use 1 cup egg beaters in place of the 4 eggs.

                                                           Bon Appetite!

Leave a comment